As We Forgive Those Who Don’t Trespass Against Us

by alexd281

I didn’t consider this. I am the new owner of a home defense handgun and most likely, thanks to my training, have always understood 2 to the chest, one to the head. I never really considered the implications of Jesus teaching in regard to self defense. Of course, it’s challenging considering my family but I will trust the LORD and go for non – lethal if I ever find myself in that type of situation.

lucidmarbles

by David Bishop

Of course Christians have the right to defend themselves.   Loving my enemy doesn’t mean I don’t do anything at all to defend myself or my family.  But must I defend them with lethal force?

Matthew 5:38-39  You have heard it said,  “An eye for an eye and a tooth for a tooth.”   But I say to you, do not resist the one who is evil.   But if anyone slaps you on the right cheek, turn to him the other also. (Mt. 5:38-39) 

Matthew 5:43-44  Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you.

It has been argued that Christ was speaking only to persecution in Matthew 5.  Love those who persecute you, in other words, but shoot everyone else.   To this I say, humbug!  Shall my adultery not count as adultery when I am not in adultery for my faith?!   Or am I unjust to hate…

View original post 416 more words

